Skip to content
Back to Issue 13

Capital flow drill-down

Money in, revenue out: the full breakdown.

Issue 13 · Week 29 of 2026.

The four-category capital scorecard expanded with named transactions, burn-to-revenue context, and per-category trends across recent issues. Each row corresponds to a row in the summary table on the issue page.

Capital flow scorecard

Capital in, revenue out, burn ratio, and movement.

Capital in, revenue out, and direction of travel for this issue.
CategoryCapital inRevenue outBurn to revenueMovement
Frontier LabsOpenAI, Anthropic, Google DeepMind, xAI~$95BPrior ~$95B · Flat~$21BPrior ~$21B · Flat~4.5xNo new primary capital closed in-window; the action moved to compute sourcing — Anthropic in reported talks to lease up to ~$10B of capacity from Meta over two years (figures explicitly disputed as 'speculative' by one source), on top of its earlier $45B/3yr Colossus 1 access commitment.
Hyperscaler-HostedAzure-OpenAI, AWS-Anthropic, Google Cloud-Gemini, Oracle-OCI~$210BPrior ~$187B · Up~$62BPrior ~$62B · Flat~3.4xMeta expanded Hyperion (Louisiana) to 5 GW and >$50B — the largest disclosed single-site AI investment — while Google was confirmed as the customer behind the 2.7 GW 'Project Tembo' campus near Cheyenne, Wyoming (scalable to 10 GW); Meta simultaneously negotiated to sell capacity to Anthropic.
NeocloudsCoreWeave, Nscale, Crusoe, Lambda, Fluidstack, IREN~$17BPrior ~$13.5B · Up~$5BPrior ~$5B · Flat~3.4xThe debt market institutionalized around AI compute in one week: Nebius closed a $775M GPU/contract-backed facility at SOFR+2.50% — 2.5 points over the floating benchmark rate, disclosed in an SEC 6-K (the filing form for foreign issuers) — Fitch rated CoreWeave's proposed $2.6B delayed-draw term loan (DDTL: credit committed now, drawn as GPUs are bought) at BB+ against take-or-pay contracts (customers pay whether or not they use the capacity), and General Compute secured the first inference-ASIC-collateralized facility (up to $400M against SambaNova chips).
On-Prem / HybridEnterprise GPU clusters, sovereign and national programs, Cisco / Dell / HPE~$101BPrior ~$94.5B · Up~$36BPrior ~$36B · Flat~2.8xJapan launched FRONTia, the first national physical-AI infrastructure program — ¥1T (~$6.2B) of government support over five years for a 140 MW / 27,500-Rubin-GPU AI factory built by a 48-company consortium — while New York moved the other direction with the first statewide moratorium on discretionary environmental permits for data centers ≥50 MW.

Category

Frontier Labs.

OpenAI, Anthropic, Google DeepMind, xAI

Capital in
~$95Bvs ~$95B · Flat
Revenue out
~$21Bvs ~$21B · Flat
Burn / rev
~4.5xLower means more capital out than in.

The read

If a top-2 lab will rent training and inference capacity from a rival's fleet, the labs have become compute-supplier-agnostic — compute is turning into a traded commodity across former battle lines, which weakens hyperscaler exclusivity moats and validates the neocloud business model even as it threatens neocloud pricing. Investors should treat the $10B figure as sentiment, not capital flow (no term sheet exists), but treat the direction — labs renting anyone's GPUs, Meta seeking external compute revenue — as real and structural.

This week's transactions

Named transactions and source context.
DateTransactionAmountSource
2026-07-17Anthropic-Meta compute lease talks reported: up to ~$10B over two years, monthly payments, either side can walk; no term sheet — figures called 'speculative' by one source~$10B reported (disputed)NYT; CNBC; CNN

Trend across recent issues

W22W23W24W25W26W27W28W29
Capital in
$90B, $90B, $95B, $95B, $95B, $95B, $95B, $95B
Revenue out
$20B, $20B, $21B, $21B, $21B, $21B, $21B, $21B

Category

Hyperscaler-Hosted.

Azure-OpenAI, AWS-Anthropic, Google Cloud-Gemini, Oracle-OCI

Capital in
~$210Bvs ~$187B · Up
Revenue out
~$62Bvs ~$62B · Flat
Burn / rev
~3.4xLower means more capital out than in.

The read

Meta's twin moves — doubling Hyperion to >$50B on Monday while negotiating to lease capacity to Anthropic on Friday — mark the week hyperscaler capex stopped being purely internal: a fifth cloud is being born out of surplus AI capex (the hyperscaler-turned-compute-vendor role reversal circulated with the NYT's Jul 17 report; the pricing read is ours), and it prices against neoclouds, not Azure/AWS retail. The unresolved question is financing: no JV partner has been named for the Hyperion expansion, and if Meta funds it on-balance-sheet the depreciation drag lands directly on earnings. Buyers should watch the Jul 29 Microsoft print and late-July Alphabet/Meta calls for whether capex guides absorb these adds.

This week's transactions

Named transactions and source context.
DateTransactionAmountSource
2026-07-13Meta: Hyperion (Richland Parish, LA) expanded to 5 GW and >$50B ex-chips, up from $27B/2 GW>$50BCNBC; SiliconANGLE (Meta post)
2026-07-14Google confirmed as customer behind 2.7 GW 'Project Tembo' near Cheyenne, WY (via Jupiter Star Holdings; scalable to 10 GW), per county planning documents~$50B reportedDCD; Cowboy State Daily

Trend across recent issues

W22W23W24W25W26W27W28W29
Capital in
$180B, $181B, $185B, $187B, $187B, $187B, $187B, $210B
Revenue out
$60B, $60B, $62B, $62B, $62B, $62B, $62B, $62B

Category

Neoclouds.

CoreWeave, Nscale, Crusoe, Lambda, Fluidstack, IREN

Capital in
~$17Bvs ~$13.5B · Up
Revenue out
~$5Bvs ~$5B · Flat
Burn / rev
~3.4xLower means more capital out than in.

The read

At CoreWeave, credit and equity are telling opposite stories about the same assets: a rated take-or-pay DDTL signals lender confidence in contracted compute cash flows at the exact moment public equity reprices its concentration risk downward (stock down ~35% since the Meta Compute report — secondary-press figure). The honest caveat: this is not yet a sector-wide divergence — Nebius equity rose ~8% on its own debt announcement, with the facility read as easing the equity story. Investors should watch which story wins at CoreWeave's early-August Q2 print; operators should note that GPU-backed credit at institutional spreads materially lowers the capital cost of contracted capacity — for those with bankable offtake.

This week's transactions

Named transactions and source context.
DateTransactionAmountSource
2026-07-17Nebius: first senior secured debt facility, GPU/contract-backed, SOFR+2.50%, matures Oct 2030, MUFG-led, oversubscribed (6-K filed; signed Jul 10)~$775MNebius newsroom; Form 6-K
2026-07-16Fitch assigned CoreWeave's proposed DDTL 5.5 (SPV, GPU purchases against take-or-pay contracts) BB+/RR2; IDR affirmed BB- with positive outlook; backlog restated at $99.4B$2.6B facilityFitch Ratings
2026-07-17General Compute: debt facility from Upper90 collateralized by SambaNova inference ASICs — the first non-NVIDIA-GPU compute-backed facilityup to $400M ($100M initial)TechCrunch; SiliconANGLE
2026-07-15Crusoe + Lancium announced a 1 GW grid-connected AI campus in Childress, TX; construction from Q3 2026Not disclosedDCD

Trend across recent issues

W22W23W24W25W26W27W28W29
Capital in
$12B, $12B, $12B, $12B, $12.7B, $13.5B, $13.5B, $17B
Revenue out
$5B, $5B, $5B, $5B, $5B, $5B, $5B, $5B

Category

On-Prem / Hybrid.

Enterprise GPU clusters, sovereign and national programs, Cisco / Dell / HPE

Capital in
~$101Bvs ~$94.5B · Up
Revenue out
~$36Bvs ~$36B · Flat
Burn / rev
~2.8xLower means more capital out than in.

The read

FRONTia is small next to hyperscaler capex, but it sets the template other industrial states will copy: consortium plus national data plus a single-vendor reference design, explicitly scoped to physical AI and robotics. New York's EO 62 is the counter-template — narrower than the headlines suggest (discretionary state environmental permits only, completed applications exempt), but it hands every data-center opposition movement a governor-signed precedent one day after PJM confirmed the shortage that fuels the opposition. Enterprises siting on-prem capacity should now price state-policy risk alongside grid-queue risk.

This week's transactions

Named transactions and source context.
DateTransactionAmountSource
2026-07-16Japan FRONTia: ¥1T (~$6.2B) government support over 5 years (¥387.3B FY2026); Noetra Corp. consortium (Sony, SoftBank, NEC, Honda + ~44 firms) + NVIDIA 140 MW Vera Rubin AI factory, online June 2028~$6.2B / 5 yrsNVIDIA/GlobeNewswire; Japan Times; NHK
2026-07-14New York EO 62: first statewide moratorium on discretionary environmental permits for data centers ≥50 MW while the state develops a generic environmental impact statementNot disclosedNY Governor's office (EO text); Data Center Knowledge

Trend across recent issues

W22W23W24W25W26W27W28W29
Capital in
$90B, $91B, $93B, $94B, $94B, $94B, $94.5B, $101B
Revenue out
$35B, $35B, $36B, $36B, $36B, $36B, $36B, $36B

Methodology

Capital-in and revenue-out figures are quarterly or annualized as noted in the row, sourced from public earnings disclosures, SEC filings, and lab and vendor announcements. Burn-to-Revenue is revenue divided by committed capital. The trend chart shows up to eight prior issues. Data is updated weekly; revisions in future issues do not retroactively edit this one.

Back to the full issue